top of page
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Christensen

Early Spring Beauty (New YouTube video)

Updated: Mar 30, 2021

Published: May 9, 2020


The beginning of spring can feel like a dispute between which season will take reign. Spring one day, and winter the next. But then, spring finally usurps winter and winter starts to become a memory. The Sun's warmth is soaking in, the snow melts, and the birds return filling the air with song and much appreciated liveliness. Soon the Earth will start to turn green again and life will be in full swing!

 



Hello everyone! I hope you are well and are taking care.

Spring has finally taken a hold here (although snow is still a possibility) and I was inspired to go out and look for some things to film and photograph. So I got my phone and I went for a trek. It wasn't long before I found some things that I wanted to capture. It took about two hours to collect the footage. I enjoyed the process of filming this video very much. I went out in the woods, walked slowly and observed mindfully. I was able to clear my mind and be in the present moment. Being present makes life seem slower and that much more savoury.


Two of my absolute favourite things to do is to wander/saunter in nature (or somewhere near nature) and to sit either on a rock or on a log and just be. Not very productive perhaps, but very necessary for my well-being.


I wanted this video to show the simple but hopeful beauty in the awakening of spring. I know that spring is different for every part of the world, but here in Canada where I live, spring is long awaited for and much appreciated after a five-month-long cold winter. However, spring can still resemble its predecessor and it takes awhile for things to come back to life and turn green. So, until the earth warms up and plants start to grow, I wanted to find the beauty in this transitionary period.


Here's the link to the video: https://youtu.be/gxZ--agkINI


 

Some of my favourite things in this time of year:


The vast variety of neutrals and muted colours

Vibrant blue skies

Warmth of the Sun rising up from dried leaves on the ground

The return of migratory birds

Movement of trees and grasses in the wind

Reflections and tiny waves/ripples on snow-melt puddles

The first rains of the year

Longer days

 





I recorded all the sounds in this video and I also composed the guitar song. My guitar skills are at a minimum, so it's just a simple song, but I was quite proud of myself because this is the first song that I have ever made. I'm excited to continue to learn how to make music and compose my own songs!

This is also the first time that I have my voice in one of my videos. I'm rather insecure about my voice and that's why I haven't had voice-overs in my past videos... But I'm starting to get over the fear of being heard, so henceforth I will have my voice in [most of] my videos.




My channel will continue to be art/painting focused, however, I do want to diversify it a little bit. I have a lot of interests and I'd like to incorporate some more of them into my content. So you can expect to see nature, music, poetry, and of course more painting videos in the near future! Stay tuned!







Thank you so much for stopping by!

Until next time,


- Cheyenne


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page