top of page
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Christensen

Unexpected Beauty

Updated: Feb 22, 2020

"If you truly love nature, you will find beauty everywhere." -Vincent van Gogh

I went on a little bit of a road trip in December and I saw an interesting view that I was inspired to paint -- a site that people drive by everyday and probably don't give a second glance. It was a section along the highway of dry reeds and dead spruce trees illuminated by the cold winter sunlight against dark forest. I was inspired by the way the pale dead trees looked so sharp and bony contrasting against the shadowy band of forest behind them. The trees were in a swampy area and appeared to have died from the ground being too wet -- possibly thanks to beavers. I was unable to get a picture, so I did my best to store what I saw and how it made me feel in my mind for later.


It is easier to see the beauty in lively and vibrant and youthful things, but that is why I wanted to paint these dead trees. I could see beauty in them, in their needle-less branches -- in the remains of their skeletal form. They tell stories.

I try to look for beauty in things or places that most may overlook or wouldn't understand the beauty of. I think once you begin to train yourself to "see" like an artist, you will automatically find more beauty in the world around you.


Skeletal Conifers

This painting actually started out as a sketch, but I liked it enough to consider it a complete painting. I decided to go with a loose/messy style of approach to this (somewhat) new subject matter. It didn't turn out perfect, but I think that can add to the emotional quality. I've painted plenty of trees before, but I've never intentionally painted dead trees. Personally, I think it is a fascinating subject to explore, with possibilities of great depth, meaning and metaphor -- or even just surface value of aesthetics.


 

The painting process:


First, I decided the composition that I wanted, then I drew some lines of the foreground trees. I knew I wanted/needed to use negative painting to separate them from the dark background, so to give me a little more guidance (because negative painting is my most underdeveloped art skill) I painted the foreground trees before I painted around them.


Although the trees were a very plain grey colour, I imagined all the different colours that could be mixed into that grey colour. I used a semi-opaque watercolour paint (Juane Brilliant from ShinHan) to create the neutrals that I wanted to be more pastel. I mixed it with Ultramarine Blue, Ultramarine Violet, and Quinacridone Gold to create a nice variation of neutral tones.


I've had my three semi-opaque watercolours (Jaune Brilliant, Lavender, Shell Pink) for about four years, but this was the first time that I had used any of them in a "real" painting. It's commonly discouraged to paint with opaque watercolours as it is not the purists way, so I hadn't tried to find ways to use them. What a shame! They are lovely! Sometimes you need pastel colours that you just can't achieve with transparent paints alone. So, I plan to use my semi-opaque watercolours more often. That was a bit of a tangent... I'll get back on track now :)


Once I had painted the foreground trees, it was time to paint the background. I wanted the background to be simple and to not cover up much of the paper nor take too much attention away from the foreground. For the background colours I just used the leftover neutral paint mix that was in my palette but I did add some phthalo green, ultramarine blue and brown madder to that. I also dropped some Quinacridone Sienna into the background when it was still wet, and then added some of it in the grasses as well. I have a tendency to make my watercolour washes a little too "perfect" and smooth looking, so I was really happy with the loose and informal background that I was able to achieve -- it turned out better than I had hoped.


Then I moved to the grass/reeds. Again, I wanted to keep the grasses simple and leave some white of the paper. The area where the grass meets the foreground trees got a little messy and I was unhappy with how it was starting to look. I went back and forth between adding some paint and lifting paint, trying to find a look that I was pleased with. I decided to use some white gouache to add some neater looking grass strands and to partially cover up that area that was irking me. I also used the gouache to add a few "ghost" trees in the background to add some more depth and interest. I like it much better since adding those gouache details!

I just darkened up some areas, signed it, and then it was done :)



~ So let us continue to look for the beauty around us! ~



If you have any questions, feel free to comment on this post, email me at artbycheyc@gmail.com or you can contact me on my website here.


You can also sign up to my blog here to get notified when I make a new blog post.

Find me on these other social platforms: Instagram Facebook YouTube Pinterest

Til next time,

Cheyenne

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page