top of page
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Christensen

Welcoming Autumn ~

Updated: Sep 20, 2019




"A new season is coming... whether it brings excitement for change, or fear of the unknown... I hope you know that your response is your choice. You can begin this season with a new perspective on change, an open heart to what time may bring. Even here, in this moment of fear and excitement, you can find a sense of calmness." - Tiffany Moule


 

To me, Fall is a time for rest and reflection. I love Fall and what it brings. The distinctive autumn clouds, rainy days, cool breezes, crisp nights, dew on the grass in the morning, and the smell of fallen leaves is also particularly pleasing!


I see people who think it is a sad time of year, and for some, they wish summer would never end. They feel as though time is running out, or that they're losing something -- something that isn't comprehensible. Many people are uncomfortable with the change and dormancy that Fall brings, but the arrival of Fall doesn't have to be sombre. In many different regions, Fall is a quieting down of the Earth and buzz of the hot summer. Yes, it is also a reminder that Winter is on its way, but winter is necessary too.


I must admit that I become melancholic sometimes during Fall as well. However, I'm trying to honour this gloomy emotion and ask if it has something to teach and why it is present. If I pay attention, it shows me my insecurities, past memories, and the people and places that I miss. I've come to realize that these feelings have little to do with the actual weather or season, and everything to do with me.


We all too often look at life through a negative lens, but we can change that narrative with a little effort (most of the time). If Autumn makes you sad, allow yourself to feel that sadness, then try to identify what is causing it, and if it is unnecessary, it will pass soon enough. Try to catch yourself when you return to negative thought patterns and try to change them into something more beneficial. Remind yourself the importance of staying present, and look for the beauty in every moment. You will be happier in the long run.

If you struggle with severe seasonal depression, please be sure to take care of yourself and reach out to others. Don't be afraid or ashamed to get help.



Fall can teach us so much about the need to slow down and to take a break - also that change is inevitable and that you can cause yourself more grief if you try to resist it. So, take a moment to listen and pay attention. I hope that you are brave enough to welcome change and to embrace the unknown this Autumn.


 

Thank you very much for reading this post. Please feel free to comment and share. You can sign up to my blog to get notified when I make a new post here and you can contact me here. You can also find me on the these other platforms: Instagram Facebook YouTube Pinterest


Until next time,

Cheyenne

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


followthewisps.mistandmoonlight
followthewisps.mistandmoonlight
Sep 11, 2019

Awesome my Dear Daughter! I so love Fall...my favorite season of all! I so love to watch fallen leaves dancing in the wind...they are fairies and elves...and all other

little creatures of the earth...dancing and playing mischief ...enjoying life the way we should! Yes...we should embrace the season and all the emotions that it brings to us...grow, feel...enjoy...DANCE! I love you my special...”creature of the earth”....truly a blessing ...and with all you do in life...Dance and enjoy! You are loved!

Like
bottom of page